Jacob’s Market

On every floor, around every corner, on every shelf is another relic of a by-gone era just waiting to be rediscovered…

Despite living in Cardiff for the last three years I had never heard of Jacob’s Market. Once I heard about this antiques market just behind Cardiff Central Station I decided I had to go.

Just a selection of the many items in Jacob’s Market.

The building is a four floor treasure trove of the wonderful to the strange, from vintage typewriters and super-8 cameras to pipes, old postcards and oddly, Nazi uniforms.

It feels like at any moment you might pick up some long-forgotten gem and begin an amazing adventure. You might read a passage out of some long forgotten book and inadvertently summon a wizard or buy an old carpet only to find that it flies… maybe I just read too much as a child.

Postcards from the past.

I loved being able to look at all of these strange objects from the past, click the keys of a vintage typewriter, turn the pages of old books and try on retro sunglasses.

While there we met Henry Nicholson who has just opened up a store in Jacob’s Market selling battered suitcases, cigar boxes, vintage clothing, typewriters and a host of other eclectic items. Henry told us that he is an animator as well and has just finished working on Rastamouse.

Every store-owner there was extremely talkative and helpful and all seemed to have a real love of the items they were selling. I don’t think they minded that I was there just for a bit of a browse.

One of my favourite moments was shuffling through a box of old postcards, there is something magical about reading words written for someone else decades ago, I can’t put my finger on why.

I can now see myself whiling away many a Saturday in Jacob’s market and soon enough I’m sure my room will be filled with even more peculiar curiosities. I really want a vintage typewriter!

UPDATE: I have recently been back to Jacob’s Market and purchased some of the old postcards. You can hear them being read aloud here: Postcards From the Past

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments
3 Responses to “Jacob’s Market”
  1. Dorine says:

    I did go years ago and whilst I enjoyed looking around I have to admit that the Nazi uniforms and other war memorabilia left me uncomfortable, probably because in France it is illegal to sell these items. There used to be a cafe there as well upstairs as well I believe? Or am I getting confused with the Pumphouse in Penarth Road?

    • Yes, there is Cafe upstairs but I had my nose buried in too many of the odds and ends dotted about, I think I will definitely pop up there at some point though! But I do agree that it is very uncomfortable seeing all the Nazi stuff. I thought it was illegal to sell it here as well but apparently not. Hopefully anyone who buys such items does so purely out of historical interest.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] of old photographs in the corner of Cardiff’s dusty home for all things vintage and retro, Jacob’s Market, I found several old postcards written in the 1920′s, 30′s and […]



Leave a Reply

